Belmont Stakes Schedule for 2013

When: June 8, 2013

Where: Belmont Park, NY

TV Coverage: NBC

Time:TV Coverage begins at 5 PM EST and Belmont Stakes Race – Post time at 6:30 PM ES

The Belmont Stakes traditionally takes place every June at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.  As the third and final leg in horse racing’s Triple Crown the event is always scheduled five weeks after the Kentucky Derby and two weeks after the Preakness Stakes.  While the Belmont Stakes itself is the ‘main event’ of the racing weekend there are several prestigious stakes races contested on the ‘undercard’ every year.

The 2013 Belmont Stakes will take place on Saturday, June 8 with live television coverage of the race itself on NBC.  NBC has made a strong commitment to covering horse racing of late so you can expect coverage of many of the events leading up to the Belmont Stakes on NBC Sports (formerly Versus).  As always there will be full analysis and pre and post race coverage on the dedicated horse racing networks TVG and HRTV and audio coverage on HRRN (Horse Racing Radio Network).  For those looking to attend the race live, gates open at 8:30 AM.  In addition to the highly sought after reserved seating Belmont Park admits thousands of fans via general admission on a first come, first served basis.

The stakes races on the Belmont undercard are as follows:

–The ‘Just A Game’ Stakes:  Named after the top filly of 1980, the Just A Game Stakes is a Grade 1 race held on the turf course over a distance of one mile with a purse of $500,000.  The event is open to fillies and mares three years and older.  The 2012 race was won by Tapitsfly with jockey Ramon Dominguez.

–The Woodford Reserve Manhattan Handicap:  Sponsored by the Woodford Reserve bourbon distillery, this race is also held on Belmont’s turf course over a mile and a quarter distance for fillies and mares three years old and up.  This race has a purse of $500,000 and is traditionally run immediately before the Belmont Stakes.  The 2012 winner was Desert Blanc with jockey Ramon Dominguez.

–The ‘True North’ Handicap:  Named for True North, winner of the 1945 Fall Highweight Handicap, this is a Grade 2 race for horses 3 years old and up over six furlongs.  The 2011 winner was Caixa Eletronica  with jockey Javier Castellano.

–The Woody Stephens Stakes:  Named for the Hall of Fame trainer, The Woody Stephens Stakes is contested by 3 year olds at a distance of seven furlongs with a purse of $400,000.  The 2012 winner was Trinninberg with Willie Martinez.

The main event of the day is the Belmont Stakes itself—it is a Grade 1 race over a mile and a half distance on a dirt track for three year old fillies and mares with a purse of $1,000,000.  The live coverage of the event on NBC begins at 5:00 PM though the actual post time varies.  The defending Belmont Stakes champion is Union Rags who won the race for trainer Michael Matz with jockey John Velaquez aboard.

Television coverage of the 2013 Belmont Stakes will begin at 5:00 PM Eastern on NBC Sports TV in the United States.  The network will show both the Belmont Stakes and the Woodford Reserve Manhattan Stakes live.

The Belmont Stakes betting racing card is scheduled to get underway at 11:35 AM Eastern with a total of five stakes races on a 13 race card.  The tentative post time for the Belmont Stakes is 6:35 PM Eastern.